Twitter Is Developing A Don’t @ Me Official Feature

A new “don’t @ me” tool that will enable you to manage who mentions you in posts is being developed by Twitter.

A mention occurs when a user’s @ handle is used in a tweet, creating a link to their account and notifying them of the post and any replies that may follow. By allowing those who are the target of harassment or bullying to block messages from specific users, a new tool may be utilized to stop such behavior.

Users can specify whether other accounts can mention them in a tweet thanks to a screenshot that app researcher and engineer Jane Manchun Wong released. They will have the choice to either disable entirely mentions or restrict the users who can say them to only those they are following.

Users can specify whether other accounts can mention theirs in a tweet thanks to a screenshot shared by app researcher and engineer Jane Manchun Wong. They will have the choice to either turn off mentions altogether or limit the users who can mention them to only those they are following.

Additional tools on Twitter provide users control over the conversations they participate in on the service. Other capabilities on Twitter are available to give users more control over the discussions they participate in.

Currently, users can disable replies altogether or limit the accounts that can react to their tweets to only those mentioned or that they follow.

Twitter Is Developing A Don't @ Me Official Feature
Twitter Is Developing A Don’t @ Me Official Feature

In February, a “Safety Mode” feature was introduced, which, when used, immediately disables users that post abusive comments or repeatedly reply to messages for seven days. You can check more related articles on Lee Daily.

Another function that enables users to “unmention” themselves from a Twitter thread they are tagged in but do not wish to be a part of was unveiled in July.

The user may still see their handle in the discussion, but it is no longer linked to their account. They can also not see their name in any responses or get notifications about it.

The “Circle” function became accessible to everyone in August, allowing users to restrict who may view their tweets to a particular group of people. With Circle, users may create a group of up to 150 followers and decide whether to share things publicly or just to the group on a tweet-by-tweet basis.

This functions similarly to Instagram’s “Close Friends” feature, where users may decide whether to share their stories with all of their followers or just a small number of them. Yesterday, Wong teased the future Mentions feature, later verified by Twitter privacy designer Dominic Camozzi in a since-deleted message.

By default, anyone can remark an account when it is posted as a screenshot, but the user has the option to limit mentions to people they follow. There will also be a choice to disable remarks altogether.

Must check more related articles:

You might not be able to reach out to a stranger across the platform to say hi or point something out to them if Twitter users are allowed to limit who can @ them. This would be a rather significant change in how the platform functions.

Final Lines

Twitter is working on a feature that will let you choose who can mention you. In a test version that app researcher and engineer Jane Manchun Wong found, you could completely block mentions.

In a tweet that has since been deleted, Twitter’s privacy designer Dominic Camozzi said that the feature is in the works and asked for feedback from the community.

You can visit our website  Leedaily.com for more latest updates and information.

Leave a Comment