A Brief Introduction to Lee County Government

Lee County’s local government, like all others in the Commonwealth, is set up according to provisions allotted by the Commonwealth government and set forth in the Code of Virginia.

There are many facets to local governments in Virginia. To better grasp how things work in Lee County, it is important to first understand the basic units of county leadership. These units are composed of elected and appointed officials, and each one has important roles that must work together in order for the county to function and develop.

The two chief administrative units are the Board of Supervisors and the County Administrator. The Board of Supervisors is made up of five individuals, each of whom is elected to a four-year term from each of Lee County’s five districts. These districts are numbered 1-5, but they also sometimes go by the names of Rose Hill (District 1), White Shoals (District 2), Jonesville (District 3), Rocky Station (District 4), and Yokum Station (District 5). You can look at a map of Lee County’s five districts to better understand which communities are in which district. The current Board of Supervisors are Mr. Robert Smith (1), Mr. Nathan Cope (2), Mr. Larry Mosley (3), Mr. Charles Slemp, Jr. (4), and Mr. D.D. Leonard (5).

The second chief administrative unit of Lee County government is the County Administrator. You can think of the County Administrator’s role as essentially being the “mayor” of Lee County. He oversees the day to day operation of the County. He can also make recommendations to the Board for action, but the power to act remains with the board. The County Administrator also serves as clerk to the Board of Supervisors. Unlike the mayors in Lee County’s towns, and unlike the Supervisors, the County Administrator is not elected, but is appointed by the Board of Supervisors. He or she serves at the pleasure of the Board. That means that the Board can vote to remove the County Administrator and appoint a new one at any time. The current County Administrator is Mr. Dane Poe.