Who Replaces Queen Elizabeth? Succession to the British throne

The British throne is inherited through descent, s*x, legitimacy, and religion. According to common law, a sovereign’s children or a sovereign without children’s closest collateral line inherits the Crown. The legitimate Protestant descendants of Sophia of Hanover who are in “communion with the Church of England” are only permitted to succeed to the throne under the Bill of Rights of 1689 and the Act of Settlement of 1701. Roman Catholic spouses were not permitted to succeed from 1689 until the law was changed in 2015. Protestant descendants of people rejected because they were Roman Catholic are permitted.

The current monarch is Queen Elizabeth II, and Charles, Prince of Wales, is her eldest son and the apparent heir. Prince William, Duke of Cambridge, the oldest son of the Prince of Wales, is next in line after him. The Duke of Cambridge’s eldest child, Prince George, is third in line, followed by Princess Charlotte, his sister, and Prince Louis, his younger brother. Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, the youngest son of the Prince of Wales, is sixth in line. Only the first six in line of succession are required to obtain the sovereign’s approval before getting married under the terms of the Perth Agreement, which went into force in 2015. Without this approval, the couple and any offspring would be ineligible for succession.

The consort of the king and the first four over 21 members of the line of succession may be appointed as counsellors of state. While the sovereign is abroad or temporarily unable to execute certain tasks, counsellors of the state fill in for him or her in the UK. Other than that, those in the line of succession are not required to have particular legal or official functions.

A member of the 15 Commonwealth realms is the United Kingdom. Each country has the same person as a monarch and the same order of succession. The ban on marriages to Roman Catholics was lifted in 2011. The prime ministers of the realms unanimously agreed to take a common approach to change the laws governing the succession to their respective Crowns. The monarch still needs to be in communion with the Church of England. Still, absolute primogeniture would apply to people born after the agreement’s date instead of male-preference primogeniture. The modifications went into effect on March 26, 2015, once the required legislation had been passed in conformity with the constitutions of each realm.

Current Line of Succession!

The line of succession is not kept up to date in an official, comprehensive manner. Uncertainty surrounds the precise number of individuals who might qualify in distant collateral lines. In a sequence of succession, 4,973 live descendants of the Electress Sophia were listed by American genealogist William Addams Reitwiesner in 2001 without leaving out Roman Catholics.  The quantity was 5,753 at the time of the January 2011 update.

The initial portion of this line of succession is covered by the following list, which is annotated and is only comprised of Elizabeth II’s great-grandfather George V’s sons. The British monarchy’s official website provides the list’s first twenty-four numbers, all of which are descendants of Queen Elizabeth II, in numerical order. Other list numbers and exclusions are in annotations (notes and references below) and footnotes. People with italicised names are not numbered, either because they have passed away or, according to sources, because they were not included in the succession.

Now The Question Is, Who Will Be The Next King?

Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom, who ascended to the throne in 1952, has held the monarchy for the longest period in history. She was crowned by the royal succession after the passing of her father, King George VI, on February 6, 1952. Queen Elizabeth II married Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh, in 1947, five years before she was crowned monarch. Prince Philip passed away on April 9, 2021, at 99.

Her four children are Prince Charles, Princess Anne, Prince Andrew, and Prince Edward. Over her seven decades of rule, she has given birth to eight grandchildren and twelve great-grandchildren. Daughters of Prince Andrew and Sarah Ferguson, Duchess of York, Princess Beatrice and Princess Eugenie, Peter Phillips and Zara Tindall, Prince William and Prince Harry, Lady Louise Windsor and James, Viscount Severn, and (daughter and son of Prince Edward and Sophie, the Countess of Wessex).

The Royal Family website states that the royal line of succession is “regulated not only through descent but also by Parliamentary statute” and is defined as “the sequence of members of the Royal Family in the order in which they stand in line to the throne.”

Prince Charles, the eldest Prince of Wales, will succeed Queen Elizabeth II, followed by Prince William, Duke of Cambridge, and Prince George, Prince William’s firstborn. Where do the other royals, such as Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, come into the picture, though?

Prince Charles is the first in line to succeed his mother, Queen Elizabeth II. He married Lady Diana Spencer, the Princess of Wales, from 1981 to 1996. Prince William and Prince Harry are the results of his two children with Diana. Prince Charles married Camilla Parker Bowles, the Duchess of Cornwall, on April 9, 2005. She refused the title of Princess of Wales out of respect for the late Princess Diana.

Prince Charles won’t reign as king with Camilla as his consort. As the King’s wife, she will officially be referred to as the Princess Consort rather than the Queen Consort, according to a 2020 Clarence House statement.

If Queen Elizabeth Dies Who Will Be The King of $28 Billion Empire?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *