If you’ve noticed that a particular person’s posts are no longer appearing in your Instagram feed, it’s likely that they haven’t posted in a while or that they have banned you.
There is no comprehensive list of people who have blocked you on Instagram, nor is there any way for you to find out when you have been blocked.
But, there are several actions you can take to find out whether you’ve been blocked on Instagram if you think you might have been.
Search the Account That May Have Blocked You
Start by looking for the account you believe has blocked you within the app. At the bottom of the screen, tap the Search symbol. The account name should then be typed.
- If the account is private and you can’t find it, you’ve probably been blocked.
- If the account is public, and when visiting their page you can’t see their profile image, post count, follower count, or following count, and the photo grid area reads “No Posts Yet,” you have been blocked.
This search is also accessible through a browser. Enter the URL username.instagram.com (replacing the word “username” with their Instagram handle, of course).
Sorry, this page isn’t available pages indicate that either the user has deleted their account or that they have blocked you.
Users of Instagram are sometimes a little more subtle. Someone may unfollow you, which prevents you from seeing their postings but does not officially block you.
Even though you are not blocked, they may have muted you, which will prevent them from seeing your content in their feed and reduce their desire to communicate with you.
To read other articles, click on the Instagram-related links below:
- 8 Reasons Why People Buy Instagram Followers from Zeru
- Why is Linktree Not Working on Instagram in 2023? How to Fix It?
Look at Your Own Posts to See if They’ve Commented
Tap the username of the person to visit their profile if they have ever left a remark on one of your own posts. Again, you have probably been blocked if clicking on this directs you to their profile but you are unable to view any of the information there, or if you land on a page that reads “Sorry, this page isn’t available.”
Check Your Direct Messages With the Person
Instagram doesn’t remove any of your previous messages if the other user has blocked you, just like it doesn’t delete comments. You can actually send fresh messages, but they won’t get through.
To access their profile page, tap View Profile. The absence of any postings on their page and a brief notification stating “User not found” indicates that you have likely been blocked, though it might also imply that the person has destroyed their account.
It’s also important to keep in mind that it’s not always a sign that you’ve been blocked if you can’t access your conversation history with someone.
Instagram once had a problem where messages would seem blacked out. If you notice this, your chats may be affected by a similar software bug. Check out our advice on how to get in touch with Instagram to see if they can help if the issue continues.
Ask a Friend to See if They Can Find the Account
You still have one option to see if their goal was to block you: Check with a friend to see if they can still access the user’s account.
There may be some good news here if they are unable to do so as well: You might not have been blocked. Instead, the user might have deleted or momentarily deactivated their account.
If none of the aforementioned options work, you should practice excellent social media etiquette. The person likely doesn’t want to interact with you, so respect their privacy and don’t try to get in touch with them or get around the block.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Instagram?
All of your likes and comments on Instagram’s posts of photos and videos will be deleted. In posts and comments, you also won’t be able to tag or reference them.
What will happen with messaging is as follows:
- The recipient’s inbox will still have all of your past direct messages, but they won’t be able to send you any more.
- Although Instagram gives them the choice to quit the group you’re both a part of when they block you, the individual will still be able to see anything you write in group chats.
- No matter whether they later unblock you, any messages you send to them won’t be received.
You won’t be allowed to enter a room if they go live or create one.